No Poo – Catch up

March 21, 2013

What has been going on with my No Poo adventure for the past 6 – 7 months?

Since my last update a loooong time ago things have changed quite a bit!

I need to post a new No Poo 101 and troubleshooting guide, as I’ve learned many new things, but if you found this because you’re new to No Poo, please check out my other No Poo posts at my old blog (previous link) for the time being.

At the end of August 2012 I gave Chagrin Valley Soap and Salves  my first try.

My general opinion is that shampoo bars are awesome! They lather! Even all natural ones, no SLS required.  I also don’t have to use a vinegar rinse as long as I’m using a bar that works well for me.  Chagrin Valley is all natural and many of their products are USDA Organic, but only a few of their shampoo bars are. According to their site they are switching more and more products to Organic, so the number of certified organic shampoo bars may increase, but they also state that for some things there just isn’t a way (yet) to make them organic.

I bought three samples my first try: Cafe Moreno, Butter Bar Conditioner, and Coconut Milk.  The Butter Bar Conditioner was the only one that I really liked.  Cafe Moreno had its perks, me being a brunette and all, but it left my hair pretty dry.  So did the Coconut Milk bar.

Even only using the Butter Bar Conditioner sample size bar for the most part, I did not have to buy more until the end of December.  At that time I bought a full-sized Butter Bar Conditioner, and two more samples. One Carrot, Milk & Honey and one Babassu Marsh Mallow.  Even almost 3 months later, I have not yet used up 1/6 of the full-sized bar, and only 1/3 of the Babassu Marsh Mallow sample. The Carrot, Milk & Honey bar was not very good for me.

The Babassu Marsh Mallow, man oh man! If I had thought the other kinds lathered, this one lathered twice as much.  I will go more in-depth on my methods later, but suffice it to say that with other bars I have to rub the bar on my hair and the Babassu Marsh Mallow I can lather it up in my hands and wash my hair with the lather alone.   I will definitely be buying a full size bar later, and probably trying the other bar with Babassu in it next, not sure what else.

I still use treated water to wet my hair. Although the water here is nowhere near so bad as it was in San Diego, it’s still not good enough.  I may also retry previous bars as it gets closer to summer because the air is not so dry here, maybe bars that made my hair dry in California will do better here.

This is why I’ve tried several samples, and will continue to try them. In fact I think that’s why samples are offered in the first place.  Everyone’s hair needs are little different, climate and water quality are a big factor and so are your general health and your genetics.  What works for me might not work for you even if it may seem like we have the same hair care needs.

Price wise, Shampoo bars are just about as inexpensive as the BS/ACV method. I only spent 13 dollars my first go around, and that lasted about 4 months.   Since I don’t normally use a lot of BS/ACV, I’d say the difference evened out, if you consider that I didn’t use roughly half of what I bought. I spent closer to 20 the second time around, prices include shipping. But I don’t think I’d run out of shampoo bar for close to a year with a full-sized bar alone.

As I said earlier, a new No Poo 101 will be coming soon!  Also how I get the most out of my shampoo bars.

Leave a Reply

