A Disclaimer.

June 27, 2013

I am not a Nutritionist, or a fitness expert, and I am certainly not a doctor.  Whether or not something is healthy, good, and safe for me is a matter of opinion, based on my research and my current personal health, as determined by an actual doctor.  It will not  apply to everyone.  So I encourage everyone to do their research, talk to their own doctor, come to their own conclusions.

I do not cite a lot of resources for that reason.

Don’t get me wrong, I do a lot of research.  A lot.  For example, I said in the previous post that when I tried researching the Primal diet/lifestyle, I only found a lot of conflicting info.  What that means is I’m going to keep looking.  I’m going to try to figure out why that is, and try to isolate the grains of truth/science behind conflicting sources. I have to understand things.  It’s my nature. “Just because” is never acceptable.

I won’t do something if I don’t feel like I understand what I’m doing, or at the very least, I have to know that my lack understanding won’t cause myself or anyone else damage or harm.  I also won’t try to explain something if I don’t feel like I know about it well enough to discuss it.

However, that does not mean that I’m always correct. I am not beyond totally misunderstanding the information I’m taking in, or being mistaken of the veracity of the information.

I do not want anyone to ever just believe me, just because. Never.  I also don’t want to be someone’s short cut.  We all know that one person, who asks a question because they know someone else will just tell them, or look it up for them, because it’s easier/faster than figuring it out for themselves.

I DO give credit where credit is due. If I am talking about a specific product, I will link to that product. If I am directly quoting something, I will link to a source.  So if I’ve tried someone else’s recipe for example, I’m going to link to that recipe. If I fall in love with  hemp oil or a new shampoo bar, I’ll certainly direct you to the brand I’m using, and any other brand I may have tried for that matter.

So, to sum up. I’m not the authority on any given subject, nor will I act as if I am. Pretty much everything I post should be treated a matter of opinion, even if I appear to be stating something factual.  Check them before you share them or actually try to use the information!

Leave a Reply

