Paleo Preparations, and some extra info.

July 1, 2013

July is here!  In a couple of weeks I hope to be starting my first 30 days of Paleo eating.

Now the reason why I’m not starting it immediately is because I need some things before I get started.  I want this to be as effortless as possible in the beginning. I want to minimize the chances of ever feeling like I’m just screwed.

So I started out with looking at my usual meals, determining which ones I can keep without having to change at all or change the least.  It seems like I mostly need recipes for side dishes.  Then I’ve been recipe hunting, making a shopping list.  More fruits and nuts for snacking or small meals, going to try out zucchini noodles, trying out alternatives to white sugar, make my own almond milk, things like that.

I’ll need some more coconut oil, I already used it sometimes but I’ll be using it a lot more for this venture.  While I’m at it I’ll be buying some hemp oil, maybe some chia seeds or flax seeds to experiment with. Figure out what the best alternative to white/grain flour would be for me to try at first. Some of this stuff I’ll have to buy online, so I just have to wait for all the shopping to fall in line really.

In the meantime I have already been eating more raw foods, less grains, etc.  Preparing my self to jump in with both feet.  I’m really excited about it.  I don’t feel like Paleo is restrictive.  I’ve seen people say that, because of all the things you’re not supposed to eat. But to me that’s like saying being a non-smoker is a restrictive lifestyle, because you’re not smoking cigarettes.  Or that cutting out soda is restrictive because you can’t have soda anymore.  While it follows the literal definition of the word “restrict”  it seems a matter of perspective. People who have never smoked a day in their life, or never really had a thing for soda, who never even think about having those things, I bet they don’t feel restricted.

Also, I keep saying “30 days” or use other verbiage that kind of implies that this will be temporary.  It’s not really that I’m looking at this as something temporary that I’ll do for a few weeks and ditch, it’s more that I’m going to try to follow Paleo as closely to the letter as I can manage for a month.  I’ll see what happens, how I feel, how sustainable it seems.  I may keep doing strict Paleo beyond that point, or I may not.  What won’t change will be my desire to eat more whole, unprocessed and unrefined foods.

Now if you’re curious about all of this, like what is the big deal with refined foods, grains, and carbs, I can point you in a couple directions.  If you’ve ever watched the documentary “Super Size Me”  then a rebuttal documentary called “Fat head” is pretty good.  It’s still all about fast food, but is more about how it’s not the amount fat or the calories so much that make it bad you, so much as all the carbs.  And right towards the end it talks some about ‘good fats’ and what not.   Another very interesting documentary is called “Hungry for Change.”  It doesn’t talk about Paleo, but it does discuss in length why grains and processed/refined foods aren’t good for us. Also why so many people KNOW what’s bad for them, but keep eating it anyway, and why the manufacturers know that it’s bad for us but make/sell it anyway.  And I especially love it for pointing out that just because our government says something is safe and healthy for us, doesn’t mean it’s true.  Both of those are currently (as of the date of this posting) on Netflix.

I’ve watched many other documentaries in the past, and I can’t remember the titles of a lot of them off the top of my head.   There are a lot out there though. If you have Netflix and look up either of the two I’ve already suggested, you will also find a lot of documentaries on the subject of diet and food.

Leave a Reply

