Oh the little things about big Lifestyle changes.

July 10, 2013

I’m still not fully prepared to start my month of Paleo, but the other day when I made bacon, eggs, and french toast for breakfast, I opted not to have the french toast and ate some bananas instead with the bacon and eggs.

Of course in the future I’ll probably try out some kind of paleo french toast. Just not having it wasn’t all that hard of a decision though.

Point being, I’m not waiting until some arbitrary Start day to make big sweeping changes.  I’m trying to eat more fresh food, less grains/gluten, less sugar on a regular basis.  Making it a normal thing to pick smart alternatives.  I do not live on my own, and my husband is not likely to be so on board with this Paleo venture.  He doesn’t mind that I’m going to do it of course, but I can’t make him do it too.  So I’m just going to have to make it work.  There’s going to be food around to tempt me.

The only way to stick with it is to want to stick with it. If I sit around thinking “I really want that french toast but I shouldn’t/can’t” then I’m setting myself up for failure. The only solution is truly not really want the french toast.

It’s a mind over matter thing.  Would you just sit and eat a stick or two of butter? Butter (real butter) is delicious, but for most people just eating some butter is unthinkable.  For a lot of people, having butter ever at all is unthinkable, not even counting Paleo. (I could make a whole separate post this, in fact I think I shall!)  It’s a mental thing of what is and isn’t okay to eat.  Making a lifestyle change means making mental shifts.

In my first post on this topic I said that I’ve been attracted to Paleo for a while.  Knowing that Paleo is a good way to go is not something I suddenly decided 2 weeks ago.  Even deciding to actually do it for 30 days wasn’t a sudden idea.  It built up over time.  It might not take everyone that long, I just let it go at its own pace.

I watched those food documentaries and I started following Paleo/gluten-free/healthy type of food blogs and Facebook pages. I really recommend following the food blogs and pages if you’re the kind of person who needs to see good food to want the food.  I’ve seen so many zucchini noodle recipes, that I’m actually pretty interested in trying out the whole “mock noodle” thing.  I’ve seen pictures of food that makes me think “Man, I’ve never had anything like that before, I’m going to try it and I hope I love it….I’m going to be super bummed if I don’t love it.”  I’ve been following some Paleo/Gluten free cooks and bloggers on facebook, and have even share a few of their recipes that I’m looking forward to trying.

I don’t want this to be stressful.  I don’t want to put off a healthier lifestyle until it’s too late.  Until some doctor is telling me that I need to lose weight or I’m in danger, that I need to lower my cholesterol because I’m in danger, or that I’ve ended up with the diabetes that I’m predisposed to.  Those things make lifestyle changes stressful, because you’re afraid and worried. I knew I had to make a change eventually, and I just let it simmer, always considering it.  I went from this is probably way to hard, to maybe it won’t be so bad, to yeah I can totally try this.  I’ll be going into this from a place of wanting to do it and knowing I can do it. That’s my recipe for success. As long as I don’t give up, I won’t fail.

It took me a while to finish this post, it was all over the place and I felt it was difficult to make it coherent. I still feel like it’s a little unorganized, but I don’t think anything I change at this point will fix it.  My mind is not with it. I’m having one of those days where I feel like my brain isn’t working right.  An increasingly frequent occurrence that I’m hoping a lifestyle change will make a huge difference with. 

Leave a Reply

