Paleo…Not yet.

July 15, 2013

So it’s the middle of July, when I’d hoped to be starting my 30 days, but things haven’t fallen into place quite yet.  It’s looking more like it might be August 1st ish.  I really want to give it my all, so I really want to be totally prepared.  I need to always have the choice to eat something Paleo. I’m sure I’ll be tempted to carb up regardless of my options, but as long as I have the choice I think I’ll be okay.

Something curious I read yesterday, apparently corn is not “officially” a Paleo food.  I follow a few Paleo/gluten-free pages on facebook, one of them being Civilized Caveman Cooking Creations. (Holy Alliteration Batman!)  In a comment on a post where a lot of people were discussing the non paleo foods they indulge themselves with from time to time, someone said their thing is corn on the cob.

My first thoughts were that corn is a vegetable, how is a vegetable not Paleo?  Some research led me to the info that corn is technically a grain. Somewhere in the back of my mind was a little beep telling me that I probably had learned that before at some point.  I suppose that makes it a good thing I don’t actually eat corn (as a vegetable) all that often.  I actually don’t eat a lot of vegetables at all.

The idea of trying out cauliflower is growing on me.  It seems like a popular “substitute” for things like rice, mashed instead of potatoes, as crusts and what not. If you use pinterest at all I’m sure you’ve come across a cauliflower something recipe.  I don’t think I’ve ever even had cauliflower before.   I’m in my mid 20’s and I’ve had a very toddler-like attitude towards vegetables for most of my life. Not that my parents didn’t try, I forced to eat my fair share of vegetables that I didn’t like.  It didn’t stick though, haha.

I’m going to have to work in a variety some how now though.  Tasting the rainbow has meaning in the world of veggies and fruits.

That’s all for today.  I plan on making a post of all the things I’ve bought/am I’m going to buy to be prepped for at least a month of paleo. Things I don’t normally buy and whatnot.   I’m also do for a No Poo post, I’ve been a little one track minded the past few weeks.

Leave a Reply

